Your Florida Marriage License
Florida Marriage License Requirements
When preparing for a wedding in the state of Florida, each couple must obtain a marriage license from a Clerk of Court office in any Florida County. It doesn’t matter which county, the license is valid anywhere in the state.
All County Clerk of Court offices are open Monday to Friday 8.00am – 5.00pm (except public holidays)* To get your license you must both visit the clerk’s office in person and sign the application form and take an oath to the truthfulness of the information provided. In addition, both parties must provide proof of the following:
US citizens must have identification in the form of a driver’s license, state ID, military ID or passport. U.S. citizens must also provide their Social Security Number. Non-citizens may provide a Social Security Number or an Alien Registration Number issued by the Immigration and Naturalization Service. Also, a passport is an acceptable form of identification for non-citizens.
For all applicants, an application form must be completed. If either party has been previously married, you must note on the application how and when the marriage ended.
Once you have obtained the license, there is no waiting period for non-residents or Florida residents who have presented both of the following:
Certificate of completion of premarital preparation course from a qualified registered course provider.
A statement attesting they have taken a premarital preparation course and read the Family Law Handbook outlining the rights and responsibilities of parties to a marriage.
Otherwise, there is a three-day waiting period for Florida residents before you can marry.
The fee for the license is $93.50. This fee is reduced to $61.00 for Florida residents who have completed a premarital preparation course.
The license is good for 60 days from the date of issue and will be required at or before the time of the wedding. The marriage ceremony must be performed between the effective date and the expiration date on the license. Please note that witnesses are not mandatory within the State of Florida.
Following the ceremony, our minister will complete the information on the license we will mail it to the clerk’s office where it was purchased.
After the license is properly recorded by the clerk’s office a validated copy will be mailed to you at the address you furnished to the clerk’s office. Usually, the license will be returned to you approximately 10 days from the wedding date. If you have not received your license by then you should call the clerk’s office where it was purchased.
The license is a very important part of the wedding. Don’t forget to purchase it on time and don’t forget to bring the license to the wedding and hand this over to your coordinator or to the minister. Alternatively if convenient for you, you can bring it to our office before your wedding day.
If you have any questions, please call our office 727-443-0039 or the county clerk’s office where you plan to purchase the license.
For full information about obtaining a marriage license, you may go to the Pinellas County Clerk’s website: http://clerk.co.pinellas.fl.us
RECORDING SERVICES DEPARTMENT 315 Court Street Clearwater, FL 33756 Telephone: (727) 464-7000
NORTH COUNTY BRANCH OFFICE 29582 U.S. 19 North Clearwater, FL 33761 Telephone: (727) 464-7000
CLERK’S TYRONE BRANCH OFFICE 1800 66th Street North St. Petersburg, FL 33710 Telephone: (727) 464-7000
ST. PETERSBURG BRANCH OFFICE 545 First Avenue North St. Petersburg, FL 33701 Telephone: (727) 464-7000
*THE CLERK’S OFFICE WILL BE CLOSED IN OBSERVANCE OF THE FOLLOWING HOLIDAYS:
NEW YEAR’S DAY **
MARTIN LUTHER KING, JR’S BIRTHDAY (3rd Monday of January)
PRESIDENTS’ DAY (3rd Monday of February)
MEMORIAL DAY (Last Monday in May)
INDEPENDENCE DAY (July 4th)
LABOR DAY (1st Monday of September)
VETERANS’ DAY (November 11th)
DAY AFTER THANKSGIVING
** NOTE: When Christmas Day and New Year’s Day fall on a Tuesday, the prior Monday is observed as a holiday. When Christmas Day and New Year’s day fall on a Thursday, the following Friday is observed as a holiday. When Christmas Day, New Years Day, July 4 or November 11 fall on Saturday, the prior Friday is observed as a holiday. When Christmas Day, New Years Day, July 4 or November 11 fall on Sunday, the following Monday is observed as a holiday.